The ADSO Awards 2016 ceremony will take place this year at the ADSO Annual conference. This is an opportunity to celebrate the success of those working within the sector, to share and showcase good practice and to recognise those individuals and teams who had gone the extra mile in carrying out their work.

The Awards are open to ADSO members only and the categories are as follows.

Learner of the Year

This is open to Learners who have completed either the ADSO Certificate or Diploma since 24th November 2015.

The learner should be nominated by their Regional or Specialist Adviser and supported by their Regional Co-ordinator. Advisers will be sent a link to an online questionnaire once their learner has completed their qualification. They will be asked to comment and provide feedback on the following areas:

  • Demonstrated significant progress, innovation or resilience during the course of their studies
  • Applied their learning in the workplace for the benefit of their organisation
  • Demonstrated new skills or personal development as a result of their studies
  • Shown that their qualification and learning experience has directly influenced their progression in the workplace

Team of the Year

Entrants must be members of ADSO and need to complete an application form (up to 1500 words) showing that they have met one or more of the following criteria:

  • Worked as a team to provide a first class service
  • Implemented new systems, practices and procedures to improve the work of the team and its service to customers
  • Worked to improve the effectiveness of Members as elected representatives, supporting their work both centrally and within localities
  • Working collaboratively across the business with Members, colleagues and customers

Democratic Services Officer of the Year

Individuals must be members of ADSO and should be nominated by Chief Executives and Councillors who need to complete an application form of up to 1000 words. The submission should show that the individual has met one or more of the following criteria:

  • Demonstrated real commitment to his/her Authority
  • Developed innovation or best practice in the area of Democratic Services or Governance
  • ‘Gone the extra mile’ to provide an excellent service to customers.

Application process and deadlines

Entries need to be submitted by 7th August 2016, shortlisting will take place by 26th  August followed by (Skype) interviews with the three top submissions in each category.  The winners will be announced at the Awards dinner as part of the ADSO conference on Thursday 24th November at the Doubletree Hilton, Nottingham.

The submissions will be judged by a panel made up of the following people:

  • John Austin, Chair of ADSO
  • ADSO sponsor
  • Chief Executive or Leader

The winner of each category will receive a certificate and trophy. The winning Learner and Democratic Services Officer will have the opportunity to attend next year’s IIMC conference in America (or £100) and the winning team will receive £300 to celebrate their achievement.

In order to submit an entry for this year’s Awards, please complete the

ADSO AWARDS application form 2016

extension: docx

 and send to Sue

For further information, please contact  John Austin: